Deed of Settlement for Tāmaki Collective Positive For Ngāti Whātua

News Release

June 7, 2012

Deed of Settlement for Tāmaki Collective Positive For Ngāti Whātua

Today’s initialling of a Deed of Settlement for Ngā Mana Whenua ō Tāmaki Makaurau, more familiarly known as the Tāmaki Collective, regarding cultural and commercial redress in the wider Auckland area, is seen as a positive development for the three entities of Ngāti Whātua - Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Whātua, Ngā Maunga Whakahii o Kaipara and Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei.

The Tāmaki Collective is made up of 13 iwi or hapu that will collectively have title to 14 maunga within the Auckland volcanic field. The collective will also have the Right of First Refusal over Government land to be sold within the next 170 years in an area from Muriwai in the west to Port Waikato in the south, to Miranda in the east to Okura River in the north.

The 13 groups fall into three broad groupings - Waiohua Tāmaki, Marutūāhu and Ngāti Whātua. Within the Ngāti Whātua group or rōpū there are three entities.

Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Whātua chairman, Naida Glavish, says the formation of the Tāmaki Collective has created the impetus for a greater level of coordination across the Ngāti Whātua ropu.

“With the Kaipara claim settled and the Ōrākei claim almost there, the Rūnanga can start to focus on the outstanding Ngati Whatua iwi-wide claims.”

Margaret Kawharu, spokesperson of Ngā Maunga Whakahii o Kaipara says Ngāti Whātua is ready to play a strong leadership role throughout the wider Auckland region.

Spokesperson for Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei, Ngarimu Blair, says the final arrangements for Rights of First Refusal are commercially attractive to Ngāti Whātua.

“The cultural redress takes Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei further than was envisaged previously.” he says.